The GNWT has recognized some of its long-service employees in the Hay River area.

At an annual ceremony on Oct. 4, workers who had reached five-year milestones – up to 30 years of service – were honoured.

Among those honoured by the GNWT with long-service awards on Oct. 4 were, sitting, left to right, Margaret McKay, Lori Lafferty, Doris Camsell, Krista Pepper, Tara Boudreau, Linda Gallagher, Rachel Daigneault-Durocher, Katherine Latour and Elizabeth Harder; and standing, left to right, Jason Morrissey, Richard Alexie, Rhonda Plamondon, Ramona McKay, Tracy Cook, Shirley Lamalice, Helene Maher, Joel Bowker, Gerard Carroll, Barbara Aitken, Allan Sibbeston, Shannon Buckley, Terry Courtoreille, Michael Gill, Gilles Bourgeois and Lionel Gagnier. Paul Bickford/NNSL photo

This year, there were 53 employees recognized with a combined 695 years of service.

Gloria Villeneuve, a human resource officer with the Hay River Regional Office of the Department of Finance, said the employees enable the GNWT to provide residents of the Northwest Territories with the high quality of service they receive.

“On behalf of the senior management, I would like to thank everyone being recognized today for their dedication in the performance of their roles within the Government of the Northwest Territories,” she said at the ceremony at Soaring Eagle Friendship Centre.

Among the GNWT employees being honoured for 30 years of service was Linda Gallagher, the secretary at Princess Alexandra School.

“I felt a sense of accomplishment on receiving my long-service award,” she told The Hub. “Not everyone gets to go to work every day and be happy in their job. I’ve been very lucky to have had a job I’ve enjoyed for 30 years. It has gone by very quickly.”

Gallagher, who will be retiring in January, said she will certainly miss the students and
her colleagues when she retires.

She said it is good to get together at long-service awards ceremonies to be able to help recognize and congratulate other employees on many years of working for the GNWT.
The Oct. 4 ceremony included employees from numerous government departments and agencies – Aurora College; the Department of Environment and Natural Resources; the Department of the Executive and Indigenous Affairs; the Department of Industry, Tourism and Investment; the NWT Housing Corporation; the Department of Justice; the Department of Finance; the Department of Education, Culture and Employment; the Department of Infrastructure; and the South Slave Divisional Education Council.

It was the education council with the most combined years of service for its workers being recognized – 230 years.


Paul Bickford

Paul Bickford is the reporter for Hay River Hub.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.