Three Nunavummiut, one former, brought into Order of Canada

Among the 125 appointments to the Order of Canada announced by Governor General Julie Payette in the final days of 2017, four were recognized as instrumental to the history and culture of Northern Canada and Nunavut. Gjoa Haven historian Louie Kamookak, who earlier this year received the Order of Nunavut, is now an Officer of...
Previous articleGN, NTI plan a closer partnership
Next articleInuit, Baffinland at odds over proposed railway
Michele LeTourneau
Michele LeTourneau first arrived at NNSL's headquarters in Yellowknife in1998, with a BA honours in Theatre. For four years she documented the arts across the Northwest Territories and Nunavut. Following a very short stint as a communications officer with the Government of the Northwest Territories, Michele spent a decade at a community-based environmental monitoring board in the mining industry, where she worked with Inuit, Chipewyan, Tlicho, Yellowknives Dene and Metis elders to help develop traditional knowledge and Inuit Qaujimajatuqangit contributions for monitoring and management plans. She rejoined NNSL and moved to Iqaluit in May 2014 to write for Nunavut News. Michele has received a dozen awards for her work with NNSL.