Quassa assigns cabinet positions

The 22 MLAs of Nunavut’s 5th legislative assembly elected seven cabinet ministers Nov. 17, and today Premier Paul Quassa assigned them portfolios. The legislators met for their first sitting despite the fact the City of Iqaluit was on its second day of closure due to dangerous weather conditions. “While we certainly have significant work ahead...
Previous articleGNWT clears haze on pot plan
Next articleSouth Baffin’s unofficial archivist
Michele LeTourneau
Michele LeTourneau first arrived at NNSL's headquarters in Yellowknife in1998, with a BA honours in Theatre. For four years she documented the arts across the Northwest Territories and Nunavut. Following a very short stint as a communications officer with the Government of the Northwest Territories, Michele spent a decade at a community-based environmental monitoring board in the mining industry, where she worked with Inuit, Chipewyan, Tlicho, Yellowknives Dene and Metis elders to help develop traditional knowledge and Inuit Qaujimajatuqangit contributions for monitoring and management plans. She rejoined NNSL and moved to Iqaluit in May 2014 to write for Nunavut News. Michele has received a dozen awards for her work with NNSL.